Fusion Power Associates
2 Professional Drive, Suite 248
Gaithersburg, MD 20879
phone: (301) 258-0545
fax: (301) 975-9869
e-mail: FusionPwrAssoc@aol.com
web: http://fusionpower.org

| FPA Home | FPN's | Directory | Calendar | Join FPA! |

FPN ARCHIVES: | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | budget history |


Nominations Sought for Teller Awards

October 18, 2004

Nominations are requested for the 2005 Edward Teller Medal sponsored by the American Nuclear Society. This medal is given in recognition of pioneering research and leadership in the use of lasers, ion-particle beams or other high intensity drivers to produce unique high-density matter for scientific research and to conduct investigations of inertial fusion.

The Medal and a $1000 cash prize will be awarded to each of two individuals at the Fourth International Conference on Inertial Fusion Sciences and Applications which will be held in Biarritz France in September 2005.

Prior recipients of the medal include:Stefano Atzeni, Italy; Nikolai G. Basov, Russia (deceased); E. Michael Campbell, USA; Robert Dautray, France; Larry R. Foreman, USA (deceased); Steven W. Haan, USA; Heinrich Hora, Australia; Michael H. Key, England; Gennady A. Kirillov, Russia; John D. Lindl, USA; Robert L. McCrory, USA; Juergan Meyer-ter-Vehn, Germany; George H. Miley, USA; Sadao Nakai, Japan; John H. Nuckolls, USA; Mordecai D. Rosen, USA; Dov Shvarts, Israel; Laurance Suter, USA; Hideaki Takabe, Japan; Guillermo Velarde, Spain; Chiyoe Yamanaka, Japan; and George B. Zimmerman, USA.

Anyone in the inertial fusion field can nominate someone for the Award. Nominations should include the nomineeās curriculum vitae and letters of recommendation from at least two different researchers in the field. The letters of recommendation should cite the nomineeās key achievements relevant to the award and should include other supporting material (e.g. copies of relevant published articles). Please note that all this material must be collected by the nominator and forwarded to the Awards Committee as a complete package.The deadline for nominations for the two awards in 2005 is January 17, 2005. Those previously nominated in 2000 or later can be made re-eligible for the balloting this year if the nominator sends two new letters of recommendation from researchers. Further details are available from the Awards Committee Chair. Please direct nominations to:

William J. Hogan, Chair
IFSA Awards Committee
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
P.O. Box 808, L-641
Livermore CA 94551
Email: hogan5@llnl.gov