Fusion Power Associates
2 Professional Drive, Suite 249
Gaithersburg, MD 20879
phone: (301) 258-0545
fax: (301) 975-9869
e-mail: FusionPwrAssoc@aol.com
web: http://fusionpower.org

| FPA Home | FPN's | IAEA Directory | Calendar | Join FPA! |

FPN ARCHIVES: | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | budget history |


JAEA Fusion Reorganization

May 6, 2006

At the end of March, Masahiro Seki retired from his posts as Director General of the Naka Fusion Institute and the Fusion Energy Research Directorate of the Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA), formerly Japan Atomic Energy Research Institute (JAERI). He is succeeded by Toshihide Tsunematsu, formerly head of the Division of ITER Project at JAEA. Dr. S. Seki is Deputy Director General. He was previously Director of the Office of Fusion Research Promotion.

In other changes, Dr. H. Ninomiya, previously Director of the Division of Advanved Plasma Research, takes over as Director of the Office of Fusion Research Promotion; Dr. M. Kikuchi becomes Director of the Division of Advanced Plasma Research; Dr. N. Hosogane becomes Director of Tokamak System Technology, replacing Dr. M. Kuriyama; Dr. H. Takatsu remains Director of the Division of Fusion Energy Technology; Dr. R. Yoshino becomes Director of ITER Project; and Dr. Y. Okumura remains Director of Office of ITER Project Promotion.

For further information, view the JAEA Naka web site: http://www.naka.jaea.go.jp/english/NAKA-HPe.html or contact Dr Tsunematsu at Tsunematsu.Toshihide@jaea.go.jp

Dr. M. Seki is now President, Research Organization for Information Science and Technology (RIST) and can be contacted at sekim@tokai.rist.or.jp