Fusion Power Associates
2 Professional Drive, Suite 248
Gaithersburg, MD 20879
phone: (301) 258-0545
fax: (301) 975-9869
e-mail: fpa@compuserve.com
web: http://fusionpower.org

June 18, 1998

FPN98-18 Fusion Program Notes

1998 FPA Excellence in Fusion Engineering Awards

The Fusion Power Associates (FPA) Board of Directors has selected Dr. Stephen Payne (LLNL) and Dr. Mark Tillack (UCSD) to be the recipients of its 1998 Excellence in Fusion Engineering Awards. These awards have been given annually since 1987 to recognize and to encourage fusion professionals in the early part of their careers.

The recipients are selected for their technical accomplishments and potential to become exceptionally influential leaders in the fusion field.

Dr. Payne is leader of a group at the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory developing advanced solid state lasers that can be both efficient and repetitively pulsed. The award notes that he has invented new laser materials, studied the survivability of materials under intense radiation, guided an extensive power plant study and has been instrumental in organizing national and international collaborations.

Dr. Tillack is Engineering Group Leader for the U. S. Fusion Power Plant Studies program at the University of California at San Diego. The award notes the key role he has played in several studies, including FINESSE, Prometheus, and ARIES, that he has made broad technical contributions in plasma, nuclear, thermal, hydraulic and structural engineering, and has demonstrated leadership in providing broad integration on matters related to fusion power plant design.

Previous recipients of Fusion Power Associates Excellence in Fusion Engineering Award are:

1987S. J. Piet
1988M. A. Ulrickson
1989D. Ehst and Y-K. M. Peng
1990W. Reierson
1991J. Santarius
1992O. Filatov and S. Zinkle
1993J. D. Galambos and S. W. Haney
1994C. E. Kessel and K. A. McCarthy
1995F. Najmabadi
1996G. G. Denisov and P. J. Gierszewski
1997P. Barabaschi